stellarossa

By stellarossa

Are you sure you should be here? Really? Here?

Said the taxi driver last night as I whizzed from a much delayed Washington-Toronto flight out to Oshawa about an hour from Toronto. I was so tired when I arrived I just checked into the motel and went to bed, so this morning when I opened the curtains I saw Oshawa for the first time. Not what I was expecting from Canada. No maple syrup, Mounties, grizzly bears. No, a huge freeway (or is it expressway?) cars, industry, concrete, wire fences, more concrete. At lunchtime I went to reception to find out where I could walk to get lunch.

You haven't got a car?
No.
Then you can't go anywhere.

Finally I had the most expensive awful lunch ever as a taxi driver picked me to up to take me to a row of fast food outlets to have the only salad on the menu which was drenched in some kind of thick sauce and topped with grilled bacon, fat and all. And this taxi driver asked 'WHY are you here?', 'Are you sure you're in the right place?'. It's starting to make me wonder....

I'm not staying here for three nights, I start googling hotels in Toronto and planning how soon I can escape after our training finishes tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.