Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Unlike the flats I occupied in Chatham and in Hell-on-Thames, this one allows me space to store food. Not only in cupboards, but also in a bit more of a freezer than I have been used to these last four years. So a little while ago I invested in some panniers for the bicycle so that I could bring home shopping from the reasonably priced out-of-town supermarket in quantities that made it worthwhile. Last week I was investing in locally grown seasonal veg that I could freeze, as well as some frozen produce that works out cheaper in bulk, and oven-to-freezer-to-microwave containers. This week I have been stocking up on tinned beans. It's heavy work cycling this lot over several river crossings, but hopefully worthwhile. Sooner or later I will invest in a little microwave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.