Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

HMAS Sydney II

I was determined to find this amazing Memorial to HMAS Sydney II.  It was a navy vessel that was sunk in 1941,  when the 645 crew members all perished.  The city of Geraldton (north of Perth) has erected the most poignant and at the same time stunning Memorial to honour those lost.  I had visited the memorial 7 years ago and I remember thinking then that it was one of the most moving I had ever visited.  My image today is of the “Waiting Woman” and behind her the Dome constructed with 645 seagulls in memory of every sailor who lost their life.

We made it to Kalbarri late this afternoon after a very cruise day.  We are intending to see a lot more of this very picturesque town tomorrow before moving on in our efforts to reach the old pearling town of Broome.  We still have many kilometres to cover but there will be some sensational scenery along the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.