Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Monkey Mia

What an amazing day today.  We left Kalbarri with the intention of going out to see Nature’s Window - see Mauzee’s Blip tonight.  It certainly didn’t disappoint but while we were out at the end of the track a rain burst and cyclonic winds caught us by suprise and we both ended up absolutely drenched.  I couldn’t think of a more appropriate word than drenched.  Can anyone better this one :). At that point we decided it would be best to keep driving and see if we could make it to Monkey Mia in time for sunset.  At one point I thought we had no chance but the rain eased off and the road was good.  We made it with 12 minutes to spare.  The sunset was “nice” but what followed was nothing short of spectacular.  No editing was required for this image!!  The scene at Monkey Mia just got better and better and we were so happy we had made the effort to get here in time.
I really had a tough decision to make tonight as to what to make my main image.  I tossed a coin and the sunset won, however I was absolutely smitten with the incredible grass trees as we drove out to Nature’s Window.  
So second prize goes to the grass trees and they feature as an extra.  I urge my blip buddies to give them some air time and have a quick peak.
Tonight we are in Malkana Country

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.