Resilience

It’s 33 degrees in our garden, again, today. The lawn has turned to straw. I have not cut it for weeks. I don’t know what this clump of flowers is called but I do know that they have not been watered and they are growing on regardless of the drought sapping everything else around them. I admire their resilience.

I also admire the intellectual imagination of Salman Rushdie. His attempted assassination last night in New York State fills me with fear for the future of the freedom of written. spoken and graphic thought. Have we already forgotten our outrage at the assassination of 12 cartoonists at Charlie Hebdo in Paris in January 2015? I don’t think so.

Later, I listened in disbelief to the football commentary on the Premier League men’s match between Brentford (4) and Manchester United (0).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.