Colchicum montanum

On my first mountain flower holiday, to the Pyrenees in 1996, I remember walking across a hillside and noticing that the grass was very 'crunchy.'   On closer examination we found that the crunch came from the dried up leaves of Colchicum montanum.   Later in the same trip we found seed pods and a little seed was duly collected.  This what the flowers look like, appearing as the temperatures drop at the end of summer.   They will flower without any water, having evolved to flower while pollinators are still active and they will do this in the garden too.   It's proved hardy in Norfolk and here in Wales but the flowers are eye level to slugs and snails which is a drawback!   I keep most of mine in pots where I can appreciate the flowers properly but one has already flowered outside .... just two petals left after a couple of days :-/

A bitty day after Jamie's support worker called in sick.   Lots more narcissus repotted and a few crocuses too.  I had lunch at Jamie's and he came here for tea, I cooked chicken with red and yellow peppers, courgettes, onion and garlic.  Yum!   

Cafe work tomorrow plus cleaning after and I've been invited out for dinner.  Not quite sure how I will fit everything in .... Meg's walk is likely to be a midnight affair I fear.   I don't get asked out often, good friends, so I'll find a way and it'll be a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.