Grey Heron

The young one and the crow met me at the gate this morning. I fed them both then they flew over to the water's edge. The other 2 crows appeared as did the gull and the older female heron. They all got a share then it was round to the clearing where the male was waiting and a bit further on the youngest one,
This afternoon the park was very busy and the heron were watching me from the centre of the loch. The young one flew over and had just got one bit of sardine when a man with a dog stopped right next to me and spooked her and she was off. The male was the next to crack and flew to the clearing and got a feed. I made my way up to the bit past the clearing where two women were feeding the ducks. One of them approached me and said "excuse me but one of your heron has just landed on the grass behind you.   I turned round ad saw it was my original young one. I thanked the woman and made my way towards the young one who started walking towards me with the crow jumping along behind her. She really is quite fearless. I gave her the rest of the sardines and the crow got some pollock. They both took off when they were finished as some people were approaching along the path.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.