kettwigefrau

By kettwigefrau

The future's bright, the future's...

I took Jas to a cake shop today to sort out the cake pops for her birthday and as we walked in my eye was caught by these trays of Berliners (doughnuts to those of you who don't Deutsch sprechen) with their eye watering, lumo orange glaze. Part of my brain thought "bizarre" but the rest of my brain is used to thinking that of Germans/German behaviour and wrote it off.

After sorting out the pops (by showing them a pic from a friend's U.K. website & telling them that that was what we wanted) we decided to stay and have cake, afterall it was just after 11, perfect cake n coffee time in anyone's book. I had a scrummy strawberry thing while Jas went for German shortbread, an odd choice given her love of chocolate, but hey, it's a free world. It must been the food that gave my brain a kick up the backside because when we went back past the garish Berliners it was obvious to me why they were orange - German tv covered the ceremony change of Dutch monarch live apparently (well they don't have their own royals so they have to oggle everyone else's!)

This evening I'm going to a party with Mr K, a 60th no less, at a spargelhoff. I can barely wait, I loathe and detest spargel (asparagus) but the Germans treat it with such reverence, the shops are full of it, every restaurant worth its salt has a spargel menu and if it's not served tonight I will be very happy astounded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.