Torn

I had planned to go with Epic to the Devoran Regatta today, the event was planned for afternoon with a few beers in the evening but instead decided to spend the day on more important things - to me anyway.

Up and out early(ish) to Connor Downs for the Redruth & Camborne Veterans Breakfast. Ian has some land adjacent to the main Penzance-London rail line and has set up an undercover, outdoor venue for veterans and very good it is. We were made to feel very welcome and had a great breakfast, there was so much of it I was allowed to go “round the buoy”, (second helping). Great to sit in the sun with new friends waving at the trains running past about 50ft away with the drivers sounding their horns in reply.
All too soon it was time to head home to drop Mrs S, grab my headphones and set off to the station. Train to St Austell via Truro and a walk down to the venue.
Having missed out on the opportunity to see Jeff for one last time I was keen to attend my friend Ray’s BBQ. Having been given a limited time due to his illness his family and friends gathered to enjoy his company and present him with an award for both his and Sandy’s service to St Austell RNA. I enjoyed the opportunity to talk to both Ray and Sandy and felt inspired, and that’s not too strong a word, by their fortitude and courage as they face together what lies on the road ahead, lovely couple, great people.
All too soon it was time to head back to the station and make my way home and despite the circumstances of the visit I felt good about the day.

Mrs S got an extended ‘squeeze’ of greeting and a heartfelt “good to see you”. As Ray said, “make the most of what you have whilst you have it”.

Main - Veterans Breakfast
Extra - Ray & Sandy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.