Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Earthquake Tonight!

What a weekend!

Two huge graduations and one big horse race.

Saturday the 500 graduating students at University of California of Merced had a grand inaugural commencement and the honor of the First Lady to congratulate, challenge, and inspire them. Her words to them, "You inspired me. You touched me," were the reward those students loved receiving for their unique campaign to convince her to speak at their commencement. It is the biggest event Merced has ever hosted. It was a trophy weekend for a little campus of 2,700 students in Central California.

Today President Obama spoke to 2,900 graduates at one of our nation's leading Catholic universities, Notre Dame. Some controversity swirled around the event because of the President's position on abortion. "He was greeted with enthusiastic applause" was the report. I think that's great. I appreciate the President's statement, "Let's work together to reduce the number of women seeking abortions by reducing unintended pregnancies." Certainly it was a trophy weekend at Notre Dame too!

I really like gradutations . . . I like ceremonies (I know I'm crazy). This season is just full of 'em.

Another BIG event this weekend -- the filly won the Preakness! Woohoo for Rachel Alexandra!

This evening (at 8:40) as I have been writing this blip, we've had a 4.7 earthquake. I hate 'em! We're okay and now watching the TV news report.

I love the 17th -- it's always a good day. Have a great Monday everyone.
That's it from Southern California.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.