Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Soggy and Wet in Southern California

Middle morning we stepped outside and into this small bubbling pool. Mr. Fun loves to have me sit with him in that round tank of H20. I'm not a sitter, so I see something in the yard that needs tending to and I want to mess with it. This morning I just sat with him and enjoyed the leisure.

Fifteen years ago this August we moved into this home. We purchased it in the down-turn of the economy back in '94. The house had been repossessed from the previous owners (who had purchased it from the original owners, a doctor and his family). The original owners had done lots of upgrades in the few years that they lived here. The only reason we could afford it was the "recession --foreclosure," and one of us knew how to manage money well. When we purchased it a few things needed repair. But mostly we were buying this big ole house so that our daughter, son-in-law, and the two grandchildren could live with us as our son-in-law went to college.

The pool came with the house (duh) or we'd never have one. Mr. Fun would have never allowed us to have one built. We have enjoyed it. It needed to be resurfaced a long time ago and we've just ignored the need. So in a week or so, the pool's original builder will be upgrading the surface and knocking some of the "old" off of the entire thing.

It would be interesting to know and I've never heard the statistic, how many homes in Southern California have a pool. I know it is lots and lots. Some people have motorcycles. Some people have boats. Some people have RVs and 5th-wheels. We have a pool. This summer I am hoping to stay home and allow this place to be our vacation spot for two, to enjoy our home and garden immensely. I'll let you know in September if we've been successful.

Saturday evening is now rounding the corner and about to arrive. I'm going to go see what it is bringing with it. Till tomorrow -- enjoy!
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. Yesterday's discussion question and comments will be taken back to the classroom. My students will not be doing the research nor the writing about the topic for my class. It was just part of the discussion that came for the articles they've been reading, but I think they'll now have fodder for a future writing project.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.