I Was Told There Would Be Cake

My Dear Princess and Dear Fellow,

So it was Briar's birthday last week and EVERYONE has bought her cake. And it has kept on coming. Today Jess brought in TWO more.

I mean. I guess it is nice. And I feel good about Team Jess. We seem to get along well* and it's a nice working atmosphere. 

The commute - not so much - the trains are still kind of effed so I had to get off one stop early today. The replacement buses were rammed, so I went to get fish and chips.

I climbed into the next bus which was half-empty. But the driver caught a sniff of my dinner and got very excited about chips. As did one of two other passengers. 

WHO THEN GOT OFF TO GET CHIPS. 

SO WE HAD TO WAIT FOR THEM TO GET CHIPS.

There is something very Kiwi about this that made me not cross about having to wait another ten minutes. 

"Thanks for choosing to travel with MetLink," laughed the driver as he dropped me off in Paraparaumu. 

It is things like this - and cake - which keeps my spirits up.

S.

* Not Team Gromit levels, but it is early days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.