Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Sad Day

I was saddened to hear of the passing of Bill Turnbull, a celebrated BBC journalist, after a 4 year battle with prostate cancer.  Sadly, he did not visit his G.P. when he started to get pain in his legs and hips and by the time he was diagnosed the cancer had spread and was terminal. He was just 66.

He was very open about his diagnosis and along with Stephen Fry, they were credited with a major increase in men coming forward for testing, resulting in an almost 20% increase, year on year, in those diagnosed with the cancer. For many, the early diagnosis allowed for treatment to take place to extend their lives. 

I know from my experience that early diagnosis and treatment is pivotal to a good prognosis.  If diagnosed early, 98% of men will survive for more than 10 years, dropping to just 20% if the cancer has spread.

I’ve provided updates on my diagnosis in 2016, radical prostatectomy in 2018 and radiotherapy last year.  I am still in rude health and my latest check up was all good news.  You never know what’s round the corner but I’ve had exemplary care from the NHS and staff at New Cross Hospital.

If you have any concerns don’t delay, get an appointment with your GP. So you can be checked out. To find out more, check out Prostate Cancer UK

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.