Beautiful Sunny Day

Made some new curtains for the sitting room. But I couldn't get the pole down to hang them up. To say I was annoyed is an understatement. The fabric I used was slippy and delicate, really hard to keep together and easy to mark. The curtains were also 228cm long and needed loads and loads of ironing too. They were obviously simple to construct but I spent ages as they were so fiddly, so I felt like screaming and throwing them in the bin when - teetering on a chair - I realised that my screwdriver was spinning around on a blob of glue instead of unscrewing.

Next time I think using No More Nails is a good idea I should remember that moment. It works alright - but it works forever. I can cut the old curtains off, but the wall will come down before that pole does.

A few months ago Betsy was nominated for a Jack Petchley Award. Today she found out that she was nominated again but this time she won. I don't know much about it but it seems to be a big deal. You have to be nominated by a teacher (this time she was nominated by two - English and Drama) and it's voted for my Year 11 students, prefects and student councillors. She gets an award and can choose which department gets £200. She's going to split it between Drama and English.

She was also in a good mood because she really enjoyed her first outing on the school rounders team and they won too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.