Northleach Steam Show

I was going to suggest this as a potential blipmeet but to be honest I forgot all about it and it hasn't been publicised at all. We only remembered it was on when we had to stop for a convoy of vintage tractors to pass when we were on our way home on Friday. Normally it is held in a field within walking distance of us, but after a Covid related absence of 2 years the venue was changed this year to a field in Notgrove, about 6 miles away. They did think about cancelling it as a mark of respect to the Queen, but decided to go ahead as the primary goal of the show is to raise money for local charities.

I'm glad I didn't suggest it anyway as it was disappointing compared to previous years. The main blip is of the only large steam engine that was there. I posted a shot of this in the extras last time. There were a few very small scale ones, and lots of stationary engines generating electricity and pumping water. The sawmill engine which is normally there was missing.

There were some tractors, classic cars, motorcycles and military vehicles. but again less than in previous years. The extra is a shot of a vintage cycle display. I wish I had paid more attention to RHY 270. I looked it up and it is a 32 cc petrol Cycle Master. I never knew such things existed. Fully taxed until June 2023 apparently.

There were lots of stalls, a lot of charity stuff and engineering tat hardware that I'm sure some of you would be interested in. And a sewist too, though I didn't get a shot of her presumably vintage machine. Some of you would have been interested in that too.

We had hotdogs and chips for lunch, and had a chat to friend we bumped into in the beer tent. He was the only person we recognised, normally we bump into lots of friends. Later we were in the line for an ice cream from the Mini ice cream van, but they ran out just as we were about to get to the front of the queue.

One year ago:
Two Walks

Some how I have got behind on blip again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.