Sunday Swimming

It’s been a Sunday of swimming and sauntering .. oh and not forgetting a bacon buttie awarded for services to cold water immersion. Not that the water was particularly cold or the air temperature either for that matter. It is a joy to get dressed without icicles forming on exposed parts.

The sauntering involved an amble round the Ness and home via the Citadel negotiating various steps en route which after recent events still fill me with a trepidation needing to be put to rest.

I have been following to a large extent the journey of the Queen’s Cortège from Balmoral to Edinburgh. It feels strange to see the views of an Edinburgh which would normally be on my doorstep but which at the moment while I am in Orkney seems as remote as London. The Royal Mile and its surrounds look so crowded that more can be seen on the TV. I doubt I would have been amongst the throng had I been at home. Being vertically challenged is a handicap in situations like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.