Procession

Slightly to my surprise I managed to get onto the Royal Mile to view the procession of Her Majesty’s coffin to St Giles. I was there an hour and a half before the procession left Holyrood but even then people were standing several rows deep.

I thought I had a reasonable view of the street, especially as there were a couple of retired military gentlemen ( cap badge suggested the 16th Queen’s Lancers) not too far in front of me. However they, like myself and just about everyone else, got their phones/cameras out. Those with phones seemed to video everything so all the arms were raised throughout. I did get one or two pictures but something which just recorded I was there. So I thought the blip for today would be as above.

Indeed, I overheard someone commenting that it all seemed somewhat intrusive and they felt sorry for the mourners. They were like an Insta moment. I confess I empathised with those thoughts. Some heads were bowed as mine was briefly. And everyone was silent and respectful.

It must have been a security nightmare as people were on rooftops, hanging out of windows and generally milling around. I felt sorry for some people who were trying to cross the Royal Mile to go and catch trains. One couple said their train was due to leave in 20 minutes: manageable on a normal day but not today. The crossing points had been open before my arrival but they were closed completely from that point on.

Still, an historic day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.