Respect

Last night as we collected our son after his 5 hour queuing experience we passed through the Meadows. He had joined the queue just into the Meadows. By 21:30 as we were passing the queue of people zigzagged up and own every pathway across the whole park area. I understand for those at the end it took 7 hours to reach Her Majesty’s coffin.

This morning in Edinburgh was one of those beautiful clear sunny days with just a hint of autumn in the air but in the sunshine very warm. I decided that a possible blip would be the extensive lines waiting to get to the point where you got a coloured wrist band. I had no intention of standing for 3-4 hours or longer as I had seen Her Majesty’s coffin yesterday.

I looked for the queues but they were not there. I eventually reached the wrist band section to be told that “it was flowing freely”. So I took a decision and started out. Everyone was moving at a brisk walking pace. In 10 minutes we turned from Chambers Street onto George IV bridge and at that point we began the slow shuffle heading to the security tent.

Lots of chat with others in the queue. I was interviewed by a TV crew from Barcelona! And before we knew it we were through security and into St Giles. The mood was quiet and respectful and very moving with the Scottish crown laying at the head of the coffin. And then we were out into the bright sunshine and wending our way passed the banks of TV crews looking onto St Giles. 50 minutes in total.

As I headed back, the shuffling queue was back down Chambers Street, round the McEwen Hall and back into the Meadows almost to the tennis courts. A good 3 hours I would have thought. The blip is of the line in George Square.

So I was fortunate to hit a sweet spot in the queue and had the opportunity to pay my respects - though in my shorts and trainers (I had not set out to go) I was perhaps not most respectfully attired.

On my way home a couple of meetings to discuss church issues then home to cut the grass and prepare for a visit tomorrow by some distant relative.

I did get back into the city in to see the cortège leaving - see extra- then on the way home helped 2 Belgian ladies navigate the bus system (disrupted by the funeral arrangements) and get them to their hotel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.