Whipping Up A Storm

On This Day In History
1827: Jim Bowie stabs a Louisiana banker with his famous knife

Quote Of The Day
"I have always been of a mind that, in a democracy, manners are the only effective weapons against the bowie-knife."
(James Russell-Lowell)

Owing to Hyogo prefecture announcing a kei-ho this moning, school was cancelled. I didn't get up to much, though; I took the opportunity to make lesson materials for the spring term's I.P.C. lessons. Another unit completed.

I went to Nishinomiya to buy my cake (it's not sad, it's a guaranteed way of getting what you want.) I thought I'd treat myself to a birthday mocha chocolate chip frappe in Starbucks but, at 14:50, it was soon to close. I didn't realise that, owing to the typhoon, most shops in Nishinomiya were closing at 15:00 to allow staff to return home safely. Luckily, I just about had time to buy this cake in Hanshin Department Store before that too closed its doors.

Three birthday surprises after the cake; a bottle of Dr. Pepper, a packet of Brookside dark chocolate merlot grapes and a pair ticket to Universal Studios Japan with my daughter; it's a date!

"If manners maketh man as someone said,
He's the hero of the day.
It takes a man to suffer ignorance and smile.
Be yourself, no matter what they say."


Englishman In Japan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.