Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Close your eyes

I wasn't going to Blip anything related to the Queen's State Funeral today but I have changed my mind.  Not because I found it overwhelmingly emotional but because I struggled to watch it.  Why?  Well Mr T was bored to tears, and kept telling me to turn whatever I wanted on which is his code for I've had enough.  By making him food I managed to keep it on most of the time.

I didn't expect this to be such a struggle for him, but then I closed my eyes and the music and 75 bpm was dreary (and yes I know it's sombre), but then imagine you can't see the uniforms, the colours, the parades, the crown, orb and sepulchre.  You can't see the people arriving.  You can't see the splendour of the abbey, and then yes, I can see how it was boring.  

I have noted many times that news is very non-accessible as there are no audio descriptions and no sub titles read out.  If you've never experienced it try watching a programme with them on.  It's a different experience.

He's been very out of sorts now, thinking we have to go to London and then how are we going to get home, objects being misinterpreted as people.

I'm quite surprised by this, and didn't expect it.  I still "enjoyed" the experience but I wasn't able to watch and fully absorb it.  A real shame, but something I felt I wanted to share on what is an historic day, but reflects the everyday challenges for some that can't be set aside for a moment in history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.