Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Autumn is arriving, step by step.
Today I had a visit to the health clinic, with my doc, so no Garden today.
My doc and I had a long chatt, as usual when he doesn't have students with him. He was very happy with my BP, which menas no adjustments on the medication - that's a plus! And also my weight loss, he think that's really good. We started talking about how the body hasn't evolved much since our hunter/gather days... the reflexes are still there. I told him that (right now, outside, there's a bus making sad noises... the driver isn't there and it's sounding like an elephant, rocking as it makes the noises. Funny bus. :D ). 
Well, I told him that when I'm tired I want sweets. Since I know that I'm tired I'm (most of the time) able to do nothing about it, or drink some water. He told me he was the same, just as a comparison. He thinks this is really interesting how the body reacts. I asked him what he does about it, being tired, since he works more than full time. He told me that he takes a coke and candy. It was nice to hear that he does that, and I think that's why he told me. He also said that the older we get, the more difficult it is to get rid of that bag go chips or chocolate bar and I fully agreed with him. He told me he thinks that it's not just hormones, it's that we get better att not getting rid of energy when we don't have to. Children are just moving around like crazy, he said, and we had a laugh about us grown-ups doing just that. Jumping up in the air for no reason, or hopping and skipping to the bus, looking around to see that no one saw us. We agreed to do that more and ended the visit with a laugh. 
When I came home (I didn't do any hopps on my way to the bus, since I'd developed some soar abrasions on both my heels, otherwise I might just have done it, just because. :) ) I put on the tv, just in time for the funeral of Queen Elisabeth II. I think the little boys in the choir were very talented, and it couldn't have been easy for them standing still for that time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.