From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

So grim, it's funny!

Well, it made me laugh even though it's quite sad. I'm a bit weird, you see. One of the top local news stories in Brum today was about a funeral directors (W.H. Painter) of which there are several branches around here appealing for people to come and collect their unclaimed relatives. 150 sets of ashes have not yet been claimed. One poor chap's funeral was more than twenty years ago. Who is going to claim him after all this time?

The usual radio show I listen to while working had decided on this story as a feature, asking listeners to ring in about where their deceased relatives were. My favourite was when a man told how his wife had wanted her ashes to be sprinkled in the abbey grounds of a Welsh village where they used to go on holiday. The abbey wouldn't allow him to scatter the ashes there so he cut holes in his trouser pockets and scattered his wife during several visits to the abbey in a fortnight.

I resisted the temptation to ring up to explain about my poor father stuck on the mantlepiece in Ayr being forced to endure Embarrassing Bodies on TV. Even I don't watch that! At least when Dad was alive he could walk out of the room to practice his golf swing or something to escape the horrors of swollen parts and stinking bits. My one pal told me that a particular episode nearly made him decide to join a monastery! I won't go on as I've not long finished dinner...

I realise that my picture has nothing to do with my day. I took one of Bony earlier grinning in his grisly fashion looking a bit hot. I need to get him a sun hat. Every hall landing skeleton should have one for the summer. However, this cheery chap appealed to me more, saying 'Hello' rather than goodbye.

Track? Well, it has to be David Bowie again - Ashes to Ashes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.