Farmerboab

By Farmerboab

September seeding.....

A day spent lifting the wee straw bales I baled on Saturday. By lunch time I could feel my back starting to get ready to go ping,so was quite glad I had to go into town to pick Littlemiss up from school as she is going to help our neighbour with the milking.
Dropped her off and went to feed the heifers,then went to see how the contractor was getting on sowing the last field of winter barley. They had this muckle big tractor and seeder in doing a demo. There were a few technical hitches with the electrics ,too many on board computers involved if you as me !
What ever happened to seeding with a 4 m Massey 30 drill and a 80 hp tractor ? I used to get the job done just the same , used a lot less diesel and at a fraction of the cost for the kit involved. It maybe took a bit longer to do the job,but at what cost progress ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.