Power Lines Doon

Gales all day.  This morning was gale force 8-9, picking up to force 11 in the afternoon, and a calmer evening at only force 4-5.  It was a dry morning, with heavy rain in the afternoon, and showers tonight. 

A day shift in the airport today, and a busy day on the check-in desk.  All flights made it in this morning, in and out on time.  The only flight cancelled was Inverness/Kirkwall, which couldn't land.  A few delays for the late afternoon and evening flights.  Mam and dad popped by briefly this evening, before I headed for my shift in the shop.  A steady night, but not overly busy.  Walkies with Sammy, and then feet up for the night. 

I headed out at lunchtime to capture some wave photos, but the sea was blowing fairly flat.  As I headed out the lonely road, I noticed a thick wire across the road, but thought nothing of it.  After turning, and coming back, that's when I noticed it was a cable from the overhead power lines.  This was the moment I panicked, was it live, would it fry me, I had to cross it again.  Thankfully I survived, and phoned the electricity supplier.  There was other damage done around the isles, including parts of the Shetland Hotel roof falling off.  Loose cables from the transformer, Quendale.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.