Dahlia time

I love anything floral and have been a fan of dahlias for many years.  They are my favourite flower for picking and they will fill the house with late summer colour.  I usually leave them in the ground and cover with polythene and mulch and they come up each year.  There are a few that I am less fond of and will dig these up at the end of the summer.  Hopefully they will continue flowering a while longer, but the first frost will kill them off.

Today started with a walk and a podcast in the sunshine.   Home for a shower and potter and a bit of admin.  We are going up to Northumberland in a few weeks time and I wanted to hire bikes for a day.  I spent about half an hour on the phone to a very helpful gentleman who has taken the booking, but no payment yet which doesn't sound like a very good business model?  I drove to M for lunch and we chatted and caught up with the news.  She has been a friend for over 30 years and we are very similar people, having girls the same age.  Sometimes I can overthink things and her brief whatsapp messages can be a tad hurtful but when I see her in person we get on so well and time with her is a tonic.  Unfortunately had to leave earlier than I would have liked to but I had an appointment to get my nails done at 3.30.  Summer shade gone and I now have a nice autumn berry colour!

Home and the house felt cold so I lit the fire (still not put the heating on).  OH had a golf match today so it will be light supper for one and probably cheese for him.

Another lovely day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.