Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

THE DUCHESS RIDES IN STYLE

When we first got the bike rack delivered there was a bit missing, so today has been our first opportunity to try it out. 2 people + 30 minutes in the biting wind + 1 skinned knuckle + 5 swear words = a minor triumph.

It reminded me that when the Prof and I had known each other for just a few weeks, he whisked me off on a cycling trip to France. First task we did as a team was to construct a hellishly difficult bike rack, then get it and the bikes on the car. We not only didn't fall out, we fell about laughing instead. I decided I better not let a man like that out of my clutches.

Today's plan was that the Professor would drive me to the loch and I would pedal back on the Duchess. As I frequently pedal both ways, this didn't seem to be too arduous, but the emotional exhaustion of getting the bloody thing on the tow bar was too much, so we had a coffee and a wicked biscuit and drove home together.

Been at my desk most of the day, but it has been productive. Oh, and I had a 40 minute phone chat with Big Brother No 4.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.