Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lotsa dogs!

A doggie day! Hamish arrived, with his belongings and big bed, about 8am. His mum and dad are away to London for the weekend. Then Pip arrived, so we’ve had three sets of eyes following our every move all day. They just stand around, or sit around, watching, waiting for something to happen (Extra).

JR went off to the gym, and the dogs and I sat around. I didn’t fancy my chances of taking three dogs out for a walk. Hamish famously (though it’s the first we’ve officially heard) shouldn’t be let off the lead, as he will attack other dogs… in fact, I was advised to wind an extra bit around my wrist, just in case he lurched off and I lost the lead. Hmmm. Good to know….

So when JR came home, I took the two wee fellas out - no bother, just pretty slow progress - just as well I’m never in a hurry! Then I took the big fella out - he was fine, but I was constantly scanning the road ahead (and behind) for any possible hazards.

In the late afternoon the girls came over - Hazel, to report on her holiday (most successful) Abi to report on her new job (enjoyed it!) (and get her dog) and Christine to meet Abi. Sadly, wee Dougal wasn’t allowed to come - we thought one more dog (especially Dougal) might just upset the delicately balanced calm canine atmosphere. A fun day/evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.