Allotment 2022 onwards

By misetak

A bit of minimal dig gardening

This patch had the broad beans earlier in the year, but has had a very successful dandelion crop since then.  So I harvested these  for the chickens, just using my Japanese gardening knife rather than a fork.  Much quicker and less disturbance for the soil. Then layers of cardboard and the sawdust left from the log cutting earlier in the day.*  
Tomorrow will see the addition of  manure, leaf mould and council compost and I will then need to decide what I'm planting there - it may be some of the garlic or onions.
I had a bit of supervision from under the beans today, which was nice.  He didn't seem interested in the blackfly on the beans, but the beans are still going despite that.  I will need to pick some more tomorrow.

*Just want to point out that I don't do the log cutting.  The man of the house has a chainsaw, Kevlar trousers and other protective equipment.  My role is just to know where the first aid kit, complete with military dressings is located and stay home until he has finished.  This may seem overkill, but as his first aid trainer said "There is no such thing as a small chain saw injury" and I'm quite glad the man takes it seriously!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.