Elizabeth I at Hampton Court

This morning I made a brief visit to Hampton Court to see the Halloween decorations/ event…...even though I’m not a fan of Halloween as I have a membership I can just cycle there and quickly pop in . This is a carved pumpkin of Elizabeth I, there were also ones of Mary and Edward VI . Apparently it was done by one of the gardeners there who is also a bit of an artist. A lot of the palace had decorations of pumpkins and lots of ‘cobwebs’ etc plus various ghostly sound and light displays in some rooms. There were also 6 actual ghosts to look out for…these were real people/actors dressed up walking around slowly and behaving strangely…and not interacting much with visitors. One was a lady ( a suffragette) who used to live at the Palace in a Grace and Favour apartment ..see extra. She came up to me and said “ I see you are one of us, come to the meeting tonight at 56 Eden Street!” 

After Hampton Court I went to my allotment and dug some Jerusalem artichokes which are very mixed in size but hopefully will taste good with a roast tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.