Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

It's a long way to Tipperary...

'...it's a long way to go. It's a long long way to Tipperary but...'
That song was for a very strange reason spinning in my head on my way home after work today. Since I can't remember the rest of the lyrics, I think I learn't it during my first year of learning English in school and since that's a bunch of years ago it might not be so strange that I forgot the lyrics...anyway, it was spinning. Anyone know the rest? I think I heard that the song has two meanings, or something like that... or it's a play of words... Tipp-a-rary... is my memory playing tricks with me...?

Today I learnt a few words in Bengali. That was really fun! It's a beautiful language but since it has no resemblance with the other language I know, I had to write it down to be able to remember it. I was told I had a good pronunciation. :) It's one of my co-workers that taught me. I'll learn him Swedish and he'll learn me Bengali. Perfect trade! :)
I learn something new every day at work... Some times the teaching has less meaning then the talking, and just being there is what's needed. It breaks my heart that I can't do more for the people that I meet...but, I'm there to be a support for language and other things and no more...

Even though my physiotherapist has told me that I shan't take longer walks I felt that I just needed to walk home today. Just to clear my head. I walked all the way home and passed 'my' part of the university, where I've been studying anthropology for many years. And, so today's blip is a photo of a part of that huge complex of buildings. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.