Banana bridge (bridge 23)

Also known as Langton Street bridge - which is a bit dull really. I think it could do with a new coat of yellow paint, to be honest.  It’s an excellent bridge which takes people from Totterdown (coloured houses up above) across to the Redcliffe area and the city centre. It’s also much appreciated architecturally - because the deck of the bridge is also curved, in harmony with the curve of the upper structure. Hence the banana shape. It’s been there 140 years. 
The reason I walked over it - I walked to the garden centre, called “Riverside”  - about 2 miles from my house, and my whole walk was beside the river. I crossed here to walk on the side with less traffic. I got snowdrop bulbs for myself, and also some to send to my cousin in Cornwall as a thank you for my wonderful holiday, though they keep thanking me for looking after the cat:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.