Winter Jasmine

Was lucky to see this in the brief bit of sunshine we had. It’s across the street from the home of extra cat, who I fed for the last time this morning. I never did get a decent photo of her, she hasn’t a clue about posing - unlike the animals of blippers who seem to know exactly what to do when the phone or camera comes out. 
I think is is about the regular time for it to be in flower, I know other plants are blooming at odd times. 
A strange thing today, a great tit kept flying up to the kitchen window, pecking it audibly, and flying back  to the tree with the feeders again. At first I thought there must be a lot of tiny bugs for it to eat, or maybe spider hatchlings. But as it carried on over and over for much of the day I realised it was attacking its own reflection. I talked about it with a friend who knows a lot about birds - she’s sending me a sticker to put on the outside of the window to put it off. It wasn’t hurting itself, but I don’t think it was doing itself much good either. In the end it stopped when Portia got involved, climbed onto the kitchen windowsill, knocking things flying, and sat with her face up to the glass. That worked:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.