GIVE WAY

A satisfying day at home, doing chores, bits of music, German homework (lesson tomorrow), and a trip out to Booths to buy the ingredients for the Christmas cake, although I forgot just how long it needs in the oven - five hours! - so I left it too late to actually make it.

Just before nine, I went out for a shortish walk to finish getting my steps in.  The thing about a day alone, for me, anyway, is that, despite the fact I'm keeping busy, I find myself mulling over things. And some things are just fine: my family, my friends, the business, and so on. I'm grateful for all of those.

And I'm gladdened by the results of the American election. I'm not a vindictive man, but I'm very happy to see things go badly for Trump.

And although the climate change situation is dire, I also take some comfort from the fact that for the first time in my life, it genuinely seems to be being taken seriously by governments.

Which, I suppose, leaves the Conservative Party. I've never been wholly against some Conservative principles and ideas, I just don't agree with them. I'm not saying I'm right and they’re wrong; maybe a small state and low taxes is the formula for national happiness. I don't think so, though.

But there's never been a Conservative government that I have liked or admired, and the current administration has simply grown worse and worse over the last twelve years. I mean, I thought Cameron and Osborne were out of their depth, but they seem like the good old days right now.

This shower... well, just don't get me started. Except, the absolute and total car crash of Brexit. The mismanagement of the pandemic. The corruption.  The screwing of the economy.

No wonder they were the first thing that sprang to mind when I saw this sign: give way. Please.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.