Oxfam books

Today I was feeling pretty low for various reasons, and it was the first day for at least 2 years that I didn’t take a photo. Partly it was really grey and rainy, but also I wasn’t really looking for something beautiful or interesting - which I nearly always find if I look. 
I try not to buy books from the Oxfam shop, as I already have a pile by my bed that I haven’t read.  But today I bought three! Not new donations, but books that had been on display in the shop for at least 6 weeks. Who knows why people do or don’t buy things.  These are all pretty heavy duty. The best known is The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas - a bestselling Holocaust drama -  which inexplicably, I haven’t read. To complement that is Mornings in Jenin about the Nakba - the destruction of the Palestinian homeland in 1948. And the third is a novel about racism in Louisiana in the 1970s which sounds to have echoes of To Kill a Mockingbird, but by a Black author.  Looking forward to all of them:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.