KateBushIsCool

By KateBushIsCool

My brothers in the 70s

This picture hangs on my wall at home. I've got loads of family photos around the place and one day, when I'm an old lady, they will cover walls, mantle pieces and shelves. This photo was taken in the 70s before I was born. My brothers are (left to right) John, Danny and Andrew and they are 11, 13 and 9 years older than me. In this pic I'm guessing they are around 6, 8 and 4 years old. They are all in their 40s now and it's strange to think of them as little boys. They were always my big brothers and I had a wonderful childhood because of them. I mean, they did tickle me a lot. Until I cried and couldn't breathe, but I kind of enjoyed it. And I always wanted more.

Last summer we all went on a big family holiday to Dorset. That kind of thing hadn't happened for decades! John lives in Hong Kong with his wife, Olive. Andrew lives in Gloucestershire with his family. So it is rare we are altogether at once. George had a whale of a time and it reminded me so much of being a kid. Everyone was playing with George and teasing him like they did me when I was young. I remember thinking that being at home with my family and mucking about was the best thing on earth. Now home life is just me and my son and evenings are just solitary. George is a very sociable kid too and he'd love the upbringing I had. Oh well, best not mope now. Life is still young and maybe one day I'll live in a house like The Waltons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.