Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Sunset

After JR was back from the gym, we popped around to visit Mary, one of our neighbours, and she had one of her other neighbours with her. Archie usually gets excited and barks on the way in to the foyer, but he didn’t this time. He only barked when he saw a new person. In fact he was very good, sat there patiently (Extra) and then got VERY excited when we got up to leave. 

I then took him for a walk. Where have I not been for a while? Yes, Braidburn Valley Park. Bus to the gates, 40 minute walk round the circuit, and no need to get mud on my shoes.

What gorgeous light was just visible at the other end - very nearly sunset, and it was blinding. (Spot Archie) I tried to hurry, afraid of missing it. There were two big groups of school kids - no idea what they were doing, but whatever it was, it involved a lot of yelling. We let the first lot get away ahead of us, and the other lot were on the other side of the burn.

Poor wee Archie - when we came back on the bus, the bus stopped, but the door did not open straight away as usual, and Archie went to leap in, but was knocked back in to the gutter. I had to lift him on. I do hope it doesn’t put him off buses…

JR and Hazel have got all togged up in their finery and have gone into town for a freebie Christmas party for good customers at one of the posh jewellers. Hazel is a regular at these occasions at many of the label shops in town, and JR was overjoyed to be her +1 this time.

I’m quite pleased too - a mug muffin for tea, Archie and I curled up on the sofa, and the England v Wales match on, and I don’t need to feel guilty. When Scotland or NZ aren’t playing, then I support the underdog… 

I hope there are not too many pathetic pretendy injuries. And NO arguing with the ref. Too much to ask ‘no spitting’ I suppose…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.