Mrs Evil Goat

By MrsEvilgoat

If I thought yesterday was a nightmare, it was nothing on today! 

I was running early so decided to squeeze in a few jobs at the yard before starting work. Was just telling Sharon about my nightmare day yesterday and saying hopefully all would go smoothly today. Went to put my wellies in the back of the van and couldn't open the back doors! Tried everything. With great difficulty collapsed the dog crates through the side doors so I could try and unlock it from the inside but it wouldn't budge. Put a sos call out to Mike who had to drag Eva out of her sick bed to come and help. He couldn't open it either. I'd lost an hour by this point so had to split all my walks and just use the one large crate next to the side doors! This meant more walks with less dogs and more miles in the electric van and it's always tight anyway when I do Kerry's round as I have to travel over to her area as well. Obviously after all this I was really late for my last dog so spent the whole day panicking about him.

Unfortunately on the way home I have to go up several really long banks and the battery display quickly started flashing zero when I had about 6 miles left to go. Kerry said that one day she got a tortoise light come up a while after the zero display and she googled it and you've got seven miles after that to get it charged so I was still confident I would get home. The tortoise light came on about 3 miles from home so still confident. I only got about 2 miles and it conked out. It's not like you can just walk to a petrol station to fill up either! Mike and Neil came and pushed it home - a nice delivery driver stopped and helped for a bit and one of the mums from school as well. Hard work but the last bit is downhill thankfully. It's now on charge! 

Anyway Mike managed to scramble inside again and took the panelling off to have a good look at the locking mechanism and found the problem which thankfully but frustratingly was easily fixed. If only we'd been able to sort it this morning then none of the rest of it would have happened. Had to jump in the car and head straight back to the yard to sort the horses. What a stressful day!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.