Photogen

By Photogen

Street scene, Candleriggs

I was back in the Candleriggs today and decided to blip some of the attractive bars and restaurants in the street. It was relatively quiet as rain was gently falling. Only a couple of stalwart smokers were sitting outside at one bar. However it's good to see colourful arrays of umbrellas on the new broad pavements in this historic street.

Koolba, featured here, began life as a Persian restaurant but Glasgow diners kept asking for curry. So a curry house it became - with Persian starters! Glasgow has an almost over-saturation of Indian restaurants. However KoolBa receives regular good reviews and puts this down to using only fresh ingredients cooked on the premises. To spice things up they add fresh chilies, not curry powder. I've never actually eaten here but think I'll remedy that soon and find out for myself!

I like the simplicity of the colours in this shot - even the woman walking past with her mobile to her ear, is dressed in black, making this essentially a study in black, white, grey and brown, with the red umbrellas central to the composition. I used the Photoshop Poster Edges filter to achieve the edge sharpness that I like in this type of street scene.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.