Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

There is Nothing Impossible!

Those were the words of the Indy 500 winner, Helio Castroneves.

Watching him win today was more than special. Grown men don't cry -- that's baloney! Watching this man break down and cry and express his emotion was delightful. After he expressed "There is Nothing Impossible." He went on to say, "If you believe you can win!" Many of us would say, "Sure! Right!" but truthfully, I like his philosophy. If you've heard any of the reports about Castroneves, you know that he's been through one tough struggle these past few months. In spite of all the odds he's come out a winner. Watching him win was stu-pen-duous! I love watching people get rewarded! (Mr. Fun thinks I'm crazy!)

Danica Patrick is who Mr. Fun was cheering for. "I hope The Girl wins," was his statement when he got home from church and got the TV on. He's watched Danica since she first came on the scene and he thinks it's time for a female to win. Rosie couldn't agree more! Woohoo! However, Danica claimed third place.

Dan Wheldon took second place. I had never seen him before and told Mr. Fun that I thought he was gorgeous!

When I married Mr. Fun (years ago), it was Memorial Day weekend. I'm not sure it sunk in then that I had married a guy that was completely captured by motor sports. In the months and years that followed I learned everything about Formula 1 and sports car racing. I could recite all the stats and I was enthralled with the glitz and glam.

About eight years later when my hero of racing, Peter Revson, died in a horrible crash, I drifted from following the sport. Today Mr. Fun wanted me to sit and watch the last few laps. He truly thought "The Girl" might win. I felt sorry for him that she did not. But watching Helio Castroneves overwhelming emotion was my reward. When I see a male with emotion, I know I've seen a man! Woohoo! What a great Indy 500 day this has been.

It is anniversary week in our home -- I am so glad I married Mr. Fun -- even though I was only 15. It's been a tremendous journey and I wouldn't trade it for anything.

Thank YOU everyONE for your fun and tender and touching comments yesterday about the "Bob dog" blip. I was also comforted to know that many of you could give a rip about whether a bed is made or not! I love all of you blippers.

That's it for Sunday in Southern California. Good Night.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun and Bob dog), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.