Christmas market

For years I’ve loved the miniature Madeiran scene that has been at the heart of the market leading to the Cathedral.

When we were here last year, they were checking our Covid passes before we could go in. 

Seeing this scene today made me so aware of the difference a year makes. No more PLFs (passenger locator forms for those who don’t have vivid memories of these.) No more scary tests to take before we could get our boarding passes. The stress of the unknown !!

Madeira is still careful. LFTs available cheaply in the supermarkets. Masks still worn where we’re most vulnerable.

We’re on a yellow warning for serious rain this afternoon so I headed out early. A gorgeous and leisurely walk down to the market (1.7 km, and I’m both surprised and relieved that I could do it on day 2 of my trip.)

Amazing fresh fish at the terrific little restaurant on the right of the entrance to the market.

Funchal has a lovely buzz about it. 

Anticipation ahead of the storm.
Anticipation ahead of this afternoon’s game…….

But I’m not quite brave enough to venture to the Funchal Fanzone. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.