Igor

By Igor

all it needs is love

This is Dan’s guitar.  It’s in a sorry state.  The bridge is starting to lift away from the body. I guess the humidity and temperature changes have taken their toll.  I’m hoping to use it for the musical entertainment on Day 1 of the wedding ceremony.  It just needs a bit of tender, loving care.

We met up with Varnika and her mum last night at the wedding venue for a meal. Sunday roast.  I can’t quite believe it.  Roast chicken with roast potatoes, yorkshire pudding, cauliflower cheese, red cabbage, peas and gravy.  Really.  My digestive system has not quite recovered from the colonoscopy I had a couple of weeks ago and this is just what the doctor ordered.  

The venue itself is …. bizarre.  Advertised as a retreat, their website shows luxury accommodation comprising huts and tepees, set in a wooded location.  I take their word for it because it’s too dark to see.  

We walk into the bar and the first thing that hits me is the music.  First up is ‘Rumble’  by Link Wray - a guitar instrumental from 1958 comprising two chords.  It was originally banned in the USA for fears of inciting juvenile delinquency.  And then Bill Haley’s ‘rock around the clock’.  Rock’n’roll turns out to be the soundtrack for our evening.

Next is something in the air -  just the faintest hint of wacky baccy.  The cliental is young - mid-30s? - with a mix of accents; Australian, British and Indian.  Everybody is dancing and singing along.  It’s wonderful.

The website suggests that the wooded location allows visitors to become ‘close to Nature’.  Too close in my view.  At one point I visit the rest room and there’s a frog sitting on the lid of the WC.

We have a lovely evening with Varnika’s mum.  She thinks the world of Dan;  “he loves my daughter and she loves him.  That is all that matters.”  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.