Oh Christmas tree

We waited for Mr C’s phone “review of the medical review” before we could set off for our walk. Mr C seemed surprised that I wasn’t up for the 10 miles up round Simonside from the house. I don’t think I’ve done that distance since I broke my ankle and had other issues with feet. Instead we drove over to the other side of the valley and parked in the forestry commission car park. We’d not done that bit of Simonside since Arwen - it only opened while we were away in Mexico. We were surprised by how many trees they’d taken down. It really opened up the view north.

I love going up at this time of year to see the Christmas tree with the Buddhist prayer flags. Some years ago land management removed the original tree, considering it not compatible with the moorland landscape. The locals were in uproar as “our tree” had become a tradition. As soon as a little wilding appeared it has been decorated and so far it’s not been removed. I don’t know who puts the decorations on it - this year it is particularly fine. Obviously it can be very stormy up there and a few baubles had blown off. I put back on what I could.

Just as we were leaving a young man appeared so I asked him to take a picture of us which is in the collage.

Mr C had to go back to the pet shop as the tank he got would have been too heavy for the shelf. I wonder what midget fish will be bought. He did not buy any fish toys.

Linda has cancelled her “sparkly” party tomorrow as her son and wife have brought colds back with them from Denmark. So I asked Katy and Colin to come for a meal here - sadly no party as the only suitable room is still piled high with furniture. (Katy knows not to wear her sleeveless party frock - I suggested a sparkly jumper as more suitable for our house.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.