Winter solstice

We were on a roll when we got back from our Christmas tree trek yesterday. While Mr C got on with chopping kindling I made the braised red cabbage for Xmas dinner and slow cooked it in the Rayburn while I made a starter for tonight - creamy curried eggs and spiced basmati rice ( Madhur Jaffery). Then I cracked on with the roast veg curry for main - sweet potato, aubergine, red onion, red pepper, tomato and chick pea (just made up by me). We’ll have that with Nan bread and some leftover potatoes which I covered in harissa paste that I’ll roast, coriander riatta, tomato salsa and some pickles. There’s plenty prune goo left for pudding. I also made some garlic and Parmesan croutons with some stale sourdough.

It was such a bright morning that I decided to get in more miles towards my 1000 mile target. I did 6.75 miles by the woods, top carriage drive onto the moor (so gusty I needed my walking poles to stop me blowing over), Rickety Gate, Primrose Cottage, Rickety Gate, the red road, Blue Mill and back via bottom carriage drive. I met only Dick, aged 80, out on his second walk of the day. He was a runner and knew a few of the lads my Dad trained for the Border Games. He’s reading a book about the history of fell runners.

It was after 2 by the time I got back so I set the table and had a lovely long soak in the bath - I found the 3 steep uphills today hard going in the wind. Still, only 10 miles left to reach my target.

We had a lovely evening with Katy and Colin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.