madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Stuck!

A day that started well but went a little pear shaped! Oscar reflects how I feel!
First it was the field with Ivy and I took up mince pies and mulled apple and orange juice with a splash of wine! John and I exchanged presents. Next stop the garage then CoOp for milk and croissants! Stopped at Nellies to check the post and then on to the allotment to do the hens. 
For 9 years I have been reversing up the track to the allotment without incident - today I got stuck! I blame Oscar! As he sits in the middle of the back seat he blocks my rear view - I can't use the wing mirrors as they have to be folded in to prevent them getting caught on the branches that line the track. I wasn't too concerned as luckily I had lots of cardboard in the boot I was going to lay on my plot. Well the cardboard didn't work! I also have spare bits of carpet in the car so I then put these down - still didn't work. I even took the carpet Oscar has on the back seat!I managed to push back the brambles on the left side of the car to put cardboard down under the left wheels. I discovered the rear wall was caught on what I thought was a wooden fence pole - I could see the fence wire under the wheel. I got my trowel and dug away - it was just earth. Still couldn't move the car! So I looked at the front right and discovered another fence pole in front of the wheel - I removed that - same story! Checked again and found a large brick was in front of the wheel!  I removed that! Still wouldn't move and the car  engine/ clutch was beginning to get overheated! I walked to the house opposite where a fellow coop member lives - the woman who runs the breast prosthetic business! She and her young son came and she tried driving the car as we pushed. No luck.  I replaced the bits of cardboard and carpet and her son cleaned the mud off the wheels with a broom! Still stuck. She went to phone her dad who used to run a  garage on the property she now lives on.He has often towed cars out of the track! He was out! So she disappeared to find some people to help push the car. I left Oscar in the car and went and did the hens!
Just as I got back to the car up she came in a 4 by 4 driven by a bloke! She had gone down to the pub to get help! He said he would try driving it out first. We both watched and we both spoke the same thought - half wanting it to work but equally not wanting a bloke to do what we had failed to do! Well he got it out! I told him what we had been thinking after thanking him profusely and he said it was right on the edge of being doable and he really hadn't wanted to lie down on the track to fix a tow line! He waited to make sure I drove out without incident! I asked who he was and she said the village drunk!!!!
I was intending to drop a present at Colourful Mai's but I just wanted to get home!
After lunch I wrote christmas cards - I know they won't get there in time but it's the thought that counts and I can blame it on the postal strike!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.