First Service of Christmas

Saturday 24th December - CHRISTMAS EVE

Some final preparations today and then our crib service at 4pm. We were back to our pre-covid numbers, between what we had in 2018 and 2019 - 170 adults and 94 children! I'd forgotten how busy it gets and how challenging managing so many children - some dressed as characters making a live crib, some bringing our figures to the main crib and now also some bringing knitted figures to a new children's crib. The story is really interactive. Baby Jesus this year was just three weeks old, bless him! It is so special carrying such a tiny baby down the aisle. 

Once it had finished I set up for our midnight service and then went home for a rest. I almost feel more organised and ready to set off tomorrow than normal. I keep thinking I've missed something important. 

I began to fall asleep about 10pm. I had to get up and go down to church early otherwise I would have been. I had intended taking my camera down at some point today to do some creative shots but that didn't happen, so this is one on the phone before everyone started arriving. 

Again our numbers were back up and it was lovely to see so many. A great celebration of the first service of Christmas. I might have been falling asleep at 10pm but it is now 1.30am and I am hyper! The trouble is, I have to be back in church at 7.30am.

Two more services to go, two more sleeps then ...  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.