Henderson's pies

After Milly and I had completed the Via Ferrata XTREME!, we went into the shop at Honister Slate Mine, and, amongst many treasures therein, they had a comedy mug of a cartoon sheep crossing the 'Infinity Wire' that Milly had so recently crossed.

I thought it would make a great Christmas present for her, but there was no opportunity to buy it without her seeing. And when I returned home, I found it wasn't available in their online shop.

The only thing for it, then, was to make the long drive back to Honister to buy one. Happily, Dan and Abi are almost always up for an adventure and they elected to come with me.

First of all, we went to Penrith, to visit the Minx's brother's new shop, where we bought pies for lunch. He wasn't there, but we had a chat with his wife; Dan and Abi's new aunty! Then we went to eat our pies, and I'm happy to report that they were excellent.

After that, we continued on to Honister, where we successfully bought the mug as well as a few other bits and pieces, before heading back up to Keswick for a bit more Christmas shopping. I have to say that Dan and Abi were excellent company throughout!

And finally, after a lot of driving, and quite a bt of shopping, we had dinner back in Kirkby Lonsdale, at Number 9.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.