lemonzest

By lemonzest

Storm

Arriving back from Augustow was like stepping into a swimming pool except for the fact that the deluge was liberally mixed with hailstones the size of cherries. D managed to get into the house without getting too wet but in my case I was already soaked so I brought most of the shopping in. The dogs were hiding somewhere when I came into the house because they didn't the like loud bangs and flashes of light that filled the sky. I managed to attach the camera to the tripod and attempt to capture the retreating storm that continued in the direction of Suwalki. This is my first attempt and probably not my last. I will reduce the aperture next time to see if I can capture the lightning bolts, since that's probably the way. I'll have to experiment. These monsoons are more frequent than they used to be, maybe thanks to the weather changes that a reducing minority don't accept the causes of.

I was amazed to be able to by Hot Mango Chutney in Augustow. That's really a sign of the times too. In the 1990s it was difficult to buy dry red wine, but now there is a wide choice. There is even an exclusive wine shop in Augustow called Winobranie. This page is in Polish but pretty impressive just the same.

D and little O celebrated their birthdays together in A and I's newly refurbished house. They haven't moved in yet, but from what I can see only the stair rail seemed to be missing. We ate delicious duck on the large balcony with sophisticated decking and big enough to ride a small bicycle on. It's a nice house with a direct view of the river. As ever we left a bit too late, even two minutes earlier might have saved me being quite so soused.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.