Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Puzzled elves

Elf and Safety were a little bemused today.

"Elf", Safety said, "Aren't we supposed to go away today?  Mrs P always packed us away with the tree and decorations on NYE, and we never saw any fireworks".
"Well Safety.  I think Mr and Mrs T like to keep their tree up until the 12th night".
"Oh, does that mean we don't have to go away"?
"We'll have to wait and see.  I've heard there is a gang on the wardrobe and we might be able to snuggle up there, then we can still keep an eye of the comings and goings".

I managed to get to bed a little earlier last night as Mr T settled well, but then needed me at 04:00 so no extra sleep.  I spent some quiet time while he was sleeping this morning just reflecting and thinking about next year.  

This time last year it would never have occurred to me quite what a year it would and that the year would get so dramatically derailed just 28 days in.  I really just needed to keep busy this year to distract me as best as I could. 

Mum and I always used to be up early and message or chat to each other.  That was our time, and it all stopped on 28th Jan.  I used to do some art or guitar before Mr T woke up, but I got out of the habit of that as I felt there was no point in getting up.  I have gone back to getting up when I wake up now, having an espresso and then going up for my shower.  I missed that quiet time when I felt like creating, rather than at the end of the day when I'm too tired.

Mr T got himself a bit confused today as he thought we were locked in the caravan, and the Jackie Stewart documentary did distract him, but he was still a bit muddled but what was impressive that he had taken in it, and thought about it, just couldn't quite explain it.  I don't care about that, it's just good that he's thinking and explaining it in his words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.