A lovely dusk light

This is Wine Street, which leads to Corn Street, so you can tell by the names this part of the city was here in medieval times. There was a Norman castle about 100 yards from here, which was built not long after 1066. Normans establishing their power over this side of the country. 
Also featured is the lesser-spotted bus: once a common sight in these parts, it has unfortunately become rare, even endangered, in the past year. I’m a big fan of buses, and of course they’re better for the air in the city, if they tempt people away from their cars. Especially the ones that run on gas. But they are now so infrequent and unreliable that even I don’t bother with them much, and I confess I use my car more, especially when it’s raining.  It’s apparently caused by a shortage of drivers. A few weeks ago I caught a bus at the top of Park Street, which was going to take me to within a couple of minutes from home.  It was cold and rainy, so I was happy to be on the bus.  At the bottom of Park Street we got to the stop where they sometimes change drivers - our driver had finished his shift, and got off.  No new driver came - so we all had to get off into the cold and rain again, and wait ages for the next bus to appear. 
My theories about driver shortage: 
a. There used to be lots of European  drivers - especially Polish people - who aren’t here any more
b. When there was a shortage of lorry drivers ( see a. above) quite a few bus drivers trained up for HGV to more than double their wages
c. It must be an awful job struggling with the terrible traffic in Bristol, and schedules to keep to, and then when you get to the bus stop having passengers grumbling at you.  Why do people do that?  - grumble at the bus driver, the doctor’s receptionist, or the shop assistant.  People who don’t run things and have no power to make changes. 
Oh dear I’ve had a rant again:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.