new skill

This is my Christmas gift from Mum and Dad - a chance to learn a new skill. I’ve always wanted to try basket making and now at least, in my seventh decade, I’ve got around to it!

The course is online, learning at my own pace. The willow arrived through the post a week ago and has been soaking in the bath. Tonight I started to weave the base. As you can see, it’s not perfect by any means, but I’ve enjoyed practising the techniques of tying in the slath and using a pairing weave with two sticks. Learning how to join in new stick “button to butt” and “tip to tip”.

That’s it for this evening, as it’s teatime soon.

It’s been a pretty wet day..I did get out for a walk and I put a box at the end of our drive for deliveries. I’ll be going in to town on the bus tomorrow:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.